The BEST Potato Salad!

If you haven’t gotten it yet, Jamie Oliver’s “Meals in Minutes” is my favorite show on television. He makes me want to cook CONSTANTLY! This time he made an Italian salsa verde on warm potatoes. This salsa verde has amazing flavors and can be made in minutes using a food processor. Though I had to create my own version of his salsa verde, as I did not have all of the ingredients, still the chopped up anchovies, basil, parsley, hazelnuts, and lemon melded together perfectly. Over warm roasted potatoes, the salsa’s pungent flavors become even more fragrant. Though it is still winter, these flavours make me feel like it is summer!

My Take On JO’s Salsa Verde (makes about 1-2 cups)

ingredients

  • 1 bunch of basil
  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • 2 anchovies with oil and capers
  • handful of hazelnuts
  • 1 spoonful of Dijon mustard
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • red wine vinegar
  • juice of a lemon
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Whizz the basil, parsley, anchovies, capers, hazelnuts, mustard and garlic in the food processor
  2. Flavor with salt, pepper, vinegar and lemon to taste
  3. Thin out with olive oil (It should be the consistency of pesto)
  4. Cover with baked potatoes, fish, meat, or anything you with

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment