Tasty Vegan Lentil Tacos (with homemade salsa)! Sooooo Goot!

All I can say is thank gosh for co-workers! It is a wonderful thing when you find a co-worker who loves to cook and read food blogs like you! Reading The Kitchn and food gawker, has really bonded myself with my co-workers. One co-worker/friend is especially good at finding great recipes!

Last week I walked into our kitchenette and my co-worker had a plastic container full of taco filling, but the taco filling was made of lentils! Yes really, vegan gluten-free tacos! When she told me what they were, I did not believe how good they could be. However, they were delightful, spicy, sweet and comforting.

After a long Monday, I knew I had to make them myself. My co-worker (also the awesome friend who made the wonderful frosting for the cake!) originally got the recipe from the food blog Post Punk Kitchen. However, when making these lentils I suggest following “your heart”. The idea is to use flavors that you believe are delicious. As you cook down the lentils with the sautéed onions and garlic, at cumin, chili peppers (I even used fresh chili peppers).

I also wanted to add some vegetation. I love fresh salsa, and I love making homemade salsa. Again salsa is a wonderful way to add a bit of yourself to the dish.

My salsa Recipe!

Ingredients 

  • 3 fresh tomatoes
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 small handful of cilantro
  • balsamic vinegar
  • half an onion
  • lime
  • salt and pepper

Instructions 

1) Dice the onion and cilantro into small pieces

2) Put the tomatoes, crushed garlic, cilantro and onion in a bowl

3) Add about 2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar to the bowl

4) Add lime, salt and pepper to taste

After you have made your salsa and lentil filling, you are ready to eat. I love radish with my tacos and of course avocado. Radish is spicy and bitter, and avocados are sweet and creamy, together they make the perfect combination. I lightly sprinkled lime on top with tapatio hot sauce and voila! Enjoy! 

Leave a comment